Monday, April 25, 2016

22 April, RSC, Waterford

Blues 1, Drogheda Utd 2
Another home defeat for the Blues who still boast the unenviable record of having not yet won at home in the league this season and to make matters worse this was yet another self inflicted defeat thanks to another defensive howler.
The Blues have found the net in every league game so far and only runaway leaders Limerick have scored more league goals but the problem is there for all to see as far as the Blues are concerned - only Athlone have conceded as many as the Blues. Defensive howlers are now the norm it seems. This has to stop!
By any standards Drogheda are a very limited team, same as Shels, same as Cobh and yet all have won at the RSC in recent weeks and all for the same reason. Kevin Burns must have nightmares about what is expected of him every week.
Roddy lined put his side with his two 'reserve' central defenders, the ones who did so well last Monday at Turners' Cross (up to the break!). It seems that Colum Nugent and Ian Sinnot have fallen behind the youngsters in the pecking order. Time will tell.
Sad to record that apart from the 81st minute error which gave the Drogs the points, the Blues matched them comfortably all round and did not deserve to lose this game. To be honest they bettered the visitors in many areas. A draw a least was deserved if not all three points. Anthony McAlavey and David O'Leary lorded the midfield from start to finish. O'Leary has really impressed since taking the armband. Aaron O'Connor caught the eye with a super display and capped it with a magnificent equalising goal thanks to a McAlavey assist after 27 minutes. That was after Drogheda has taken the lead thanks to the inevitable early goal conceded by the Blues - this time after only seven minutes.
Next up Limerick away......hope springs eternal but the travelling Blues' fans will brace themselves!

Blues: Kevin Burns, Robbie Buckley, Sean Byrne, Shane Mackey, Roy Butler, David O'Leary, James O'Brien (Dean Broaders 76), Darren Murphy, Aaron O'Connor, Anthony McAlavey, Dylan McGuire. Subs: Dean Reidy, Colum Nugent, Ian Sinnott, James Dermody, Richard Tobin, Corey Chambers.

No comments:

Post a Comment